Jump To Navigation

Helmet Laws

Alabama Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Under Alabama motorcycle safety law, everyone operating motorcycles is required to wear helmets.

Alaska Motorcycle Safety Laws

Alaska helmet law requires everyone under 18 who operates a motorcycle to wear a helmet, and protective eyewear or high windshield.

Arizona Motorcycle Safety Laws

Arizona motorcycle safety law requires every operator under 18 to wear a helmet, and for every operator and passenger to wear protective eyegear.

Arkansas Motorcycle Safety Law

Arkansas requires any motorcycle operators and passengers under the age of 21 to wear a helmet, and every operator must wear protective eyegear.

California Motorcycle Helmet Laws

California motorcycle helmet law requires that every operator of a motorcycle, as well as passengers, must wear helmets.

Colorado Motorcycle Safety Laws

Colorado motorcycle safety law requires anyone under 18 to wear a helmet, and all ages must wear protective eyewear.

Connecticut Motorcycle Helmet Law

Connecticut requires everyone 17 and under to wear a helmet.

Delaware Motorcycle Helmet Law

Under Delaware motorcycle helmet law, all motorcycle permit holders of any age, and all riders up to age 19, must wear helmets.

Florida Motorcycle Helmet Law

Florida motorcycle helmet law requires everyone to wear helmets, unless they are over 21 and are holding at least $10,000 in motorcycle injury insurance.

Georgia Motorcycle Safety Law

Georgia motorcycle safety law requires everyone to wear helmets and protective eyewear.

Hawaii Motorcycle Safety Law

Hawaii motorcycle safety law requires that everyone under 18 wear helmets, and that everyone of all ages must wear protective eyewear, or have a windscreen.

Idaho Motorcycle Helmet Law

Idaho requires that every motorcycle operator under age 18 must wear a DOT approved helmet.

Illinois Motorcycle Safety Laws

Illinois does not have helmet safety laws, and does not require any helmet use.

Indiana Motorcycle Helmet Law

Indiana requires only motorcycle operators under 18 to wear helmets.

Iowa Motorcycle Safety Law

Iowa has no specific motorcycle safety law, and does not require any helmet use.

Kansas Motorcycle Safety Law

Kansas only requires that operators under 18 wear helmets, and everyone must wear protective eyewear.

Kentucky Motorcycle Helmet Law

Kentucky motorcycle helmet law requires that all operators under 21 wear helmets, as well as anyone with instruction permits or licenses for less than a year.

Louisiana Motorcycle Helmet Law

Louisiana helmet law requires that all operators and passengers wear helmets with chin straps.

Maryland Motorcycle Safety Law

Maryland requires everyone to wear a helmet and protective eyewear or to attach windshields.

Massachusetts Motorcycle Helmet Law

Massachusetts motorcycle helmet law requires all operators and passengers to wear helmets.

Maine Motorcycle Helmet Law

Maine helmet law requires that everyone under 18, or with learners permits or holding a license for less than one year, must wear helmets.

Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Law

Michigan requires helmets for everyone under 21. People over 21 with at least two years or motorcycle licensure or safety course passage, and with at least $20,000 of injury insurance per person are exempted from the helmet requirement.

Mississippi Motorcycle Helmet Law

Mississippi helmet safety law requires that all motorcycle operators and passengers must wear helmets.

Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Law

Minnesota helmet safety law requires all passengers and operators of motorcycles to wear helmets up to age 18.

Missouri Motorcycle Helmet Law

Missouri helmet safety law requires that everyone wear a state DMV-approved helmet.

Montana Motorcycle Safety Law

Montana requires that everyone under 18 wear a DOJ-standard helmet

Nebraska Motorcycle Helmet Law

Nebraska motorcycle law requires that all operators and passengers wear chin-strap secured helmets.

Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Law

Nevada requires all motorcycle operators and passengers to wear helmets while on the highway.

New Hampshire Motorcycle Helmet Law

New Hampshire does not have a motorcycle helmet law on the books.

New Jersey Motorcycle Helmet Law

New Jersey motorcycle helmet law requires all operators to wear eyewear and reflectorized helmets

New Mexico Motorcycle Safety Law

New Mexico motorcycle safety law requires all operators under 18 to wear helmets.

New York Motorcycle Helmet Law

New York requires all motorcycle operators to wear helmets, unless specifically exempted for public display.

North Carolina Motorcycle Helmet Law

North Carolina requires all motorcyclists to wear helmets.

North Dakota Motorcycle Safety Law

North Dakota requires all riders under 18 to wear helmets

Ohio Motorcycle Safety Law

Ohio motorcycle helmet law requires all riders under 18, as well as anyone holding a novice license, to wear a helmet. All riders must wear protective eyewear at all times.

Oregon Motorcycle Helmet Law

Oregon motorcycle law requires that all riders wear helmets.

Oklahoma Motorcycle Safety Law

Oklahoma requires that all riders under 18 must wear motorcycle helmets, and all riders must wear protective eyewear.

Pennsylvania Motorcycle Helmet Law

Pennsylvania motorcycle safety law requires that all operators wear helmets unless they are over 21 and have held a motorcycle license for 2 years or passed a motorcycle safety class. Passengers over 21 are not required to wear helmets unless the operator is also required to wear one.

Rhode Island Motorcycle Safety Law

Rhode Island motorcycle safety law requires that all operators under 21 must wear helmets, as well as anyone holding their license for less than one year and all passengers.

South Caroline Motorcycle Helmet Law

South Carolina helmet law states that all operators and passengers under 21 must wear helmets.

South Dakota Motorcycle Helmet Law

South Dakota requires that all motorcycle operators and passengers under 18 must wear helmets.

Tennessee Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Tennessee motorcycle law requires that all passengers under 21 wear crash helmets, and all passengers over 21 wear standard helmets.

Texas Motorcycle Helmet Law

Texas requires all operators to wear motorcycle helmets, unless they are over 21 years old and have either completed a motorcycle safety class or hold at least $10,000 in injury insurance protection.

Utah Motorcycle Helmet Law

Utah requires that all riders under 18 wear DOT-standard helmets.

Vermont Motorcycle Safety Law

Vermont motorcycle law requires all riders to wear chin strapped helmets.

Virginia Motorcycle Safety Law

Virginia helmet law requires all riders to wear helmets, along with face shields or safety glasses.

Washington Motorcycle Safety Law

Washington requires all riders to wear chin strap helmets and eye protection.

West Virginia Motorcycle Helmet Law

West Virginia motorcycle law requires all operators to wear chin-strap secured helmets

Wisconsin Motorcycle Helmet Law

Wisconsin helmet law requires all operators and passengers under 18 to wear helmets.

Wyoming Motorcycle Safety Law

Wyoming requires that all operators passengers under 18 wear helmets.

District of Columbia Motorcycle Safety Law

Washington, DC motorcycle law requires that all operators and passengers wear strapped helmets with reflectors.

Return to Home

Motorcycle Events & Tips

The phrase Biker Chick Lawyer and its accompanying logo are Registered Trademarks of Lisa Marie Vari d/b/a Lisa Marie Vari & Associates.

Contact Information

Manor Building, Penthouse Suite
564 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-281-9906
Fax: 412-281-9908

Vizcayne Tower, Suite 2202
244 Biscayne Boulevard
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: 305-290-4633
Toll-free: 1-844-BIKER-CHICK (1-844-245-3724)
Fax: 305-329-2563

Do You Have A Case?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close